Sian · Uncategorized

Recipe: Quick & Cheerful Tuna Mayo

One year ago I visited a small, hidden pub in Yorkshire where I was served a jacket potato with the nicest tuna mayonnaise topping I had ever had. So, naturally, I decided that I needed to recreate the experience. After some time in the kitchen, experimenting with seasoning and added ingredients, I came up with a simple recipe for the perfect tuna mayonnaise.

You will need:

  • 1 can of tuna in spring water
  • 1 red onion
  • Cucumber
  • Mayonnaise (light or regular)
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Mixing bowl (I have used a colander in the past but have found that you lose a lot of the mayo!)

 

Method:

First drain the tuna and add it to the mixing bowl (this is where the colander would come in handy!)

Next dice the onion and approximately 8 slices of cucumber (depending on the size of the onion). Personally I like the amount of cucumber and onion to be equal so I try to use the same quantity of each. Season to taste with both the salt and pepper.

IMG_20161021_140537.jpg

Now add the mayonnaise (the amount you add is completely up to you), until you get a consistency that you’re satisfied with.

img_20161021_140609

Finally mix it all together – voila! A perfect tuna mayonnaise.

IMG_20161021_134506.jpg

Serve on a crisp, hot jacket potato – my absolute favourite!

One thought on “Recipe: Quick & Cheerful Tuna Mayo

Leave a Reply

