Kirstie · Uncategorized

Everyday Cruelty Free Make Up Routine

This is a full list of the make up I use in for my ‘every day’ make up look. All of the products used within this routine are cruelty free.

Before applying my make up I cleanse, tone and moisturise my face before applying ELF’s ‘Hydrating Face Primer’. I have dry, sensitive skin, so this primer helps to keep my skin moisturised when I’m applying products, like powder, which can make my dry skin worse.

img_7169

I begin by applying the Too Faced ‘Born This Way Foundation’ in the shade ‘Snow’. I use a Real Technique’s ‘Expert Face Brush’ and apply the foundation is a circular motion all over my face, ensuring to blend down onto the neck to avoid an awful foundation line! Once all my foundation is smooth and blended down, I apply the Too Faced ‘Born This Way Concealer’ in the shade ‘Very Fair’ over any blemishes or red marks the foundation didn’t cover. I also place the concealer under my eyes to cover dark circles and highlight the ‘under eye’ area.

Once all the concealer is blended out, I take the Kat Von D ‘Lock It Powder Foundation’ in the shade ‘Light 44’ and my Spectrum ‘Large Domed Powder Brush’ and tap the powder lightly over the skin to set the foundation and concealer. Powder is really important for me, as it ‘matte-i-fies’ my foundation, reducing any shiny areas and also sets the make up helping it last longer throughout the day.

To finish off my day face make up, I take the Sedona Lace ‘Large Angled Contour Brush 850’ (which doubles as a blush brush!) and apply the Too Faced ‘Sweethearts Perfect Flush Blush’ in the shade ‘Peach Beach’ very lightly to the top of my cheekbones. This peach coloured blush works best with my skin tone (pale with red undertones) and I really like the pigmentation of the product – it isn’t too harsh for a blush.
img_7204For my every day eye make up, I usually do a simple grey smoky look using Wet N Wild’s eye shadow trio ‘Don’t Steal My Thunder’. This is a really good eye shadow for beginners because it has three sections; lid, brow bone and crease. Once you’re used to applying eye shadow to compliment and enhance your eyes you could play around with larger palettes. I use two Sedona Lace brushes for my eye shadow; ‘Eye Shading Brush 305’ and ‘Tapered Blending Brush 863’. First of all, I pack the lid colour all over my eye, creating a base. Then I sweep the brow shadow lightly across the brow bone. Finally, I takeimg_7170 the crease colour on the tip of shading brush and line the crease, blending this out using the tapered brush to create a smoky finish.

I’m a bit of an eyeliner wing addict and Kat Von D’s ‘Tattoo Liner’ in the shade ‘Trooper’ is my go to for creating the perfect wing…that is even on both eyes! The ‘felt tip’ style application is perfect for precision. Once my wings are perfect I take the Pixi ‘Large Lash Mascara’ in the shade ‘Bold Black’ and apply too many layers to my eyelashes! I like to close my eyes and sweep the mascara over the lashes, which catches the bottom ones, rather than applying straight onto the lower lashes. I feel this helps avoid that ‘spidery’ img_6395eyelash lok.
To finish the look off, I use the Rouge Bunny Rouge ‘Glassy Gloss’ in the shade ‘Rhubarb Custard’ on my lips. Personally, I prefer a gloss for my everyday look as I prefer lipstick for a night out. This gloss is my favourite because it isn’t overly sticky and doesn’t leave a nasty taste on your lips. Rhubarb Custard is a pink gloss, which I think completes the look, adding a bit of shimmer without being over the top for every day.

Leave a Reply

