Sian · Uncategorized

Food Review: Gourmet Burger Kitchen

Another week, another restaurant review; this time I dined at GBK in Stoke-On-Trent.

I had been once before but decided that I was on some kind of health kick: ordering a bun-less chicken burger with nothing but salad. Granted, it was delicious, but just not enough!

Upon entering the restaurant we were greeted by a very friendly Tim, who gave us each a menu to peruse whilst they prepared our table. My immediate decision was to order one of GBK’s Jägermeister milkshakes. I know, really?? OK yes, it may not sound appealing but you’d be surprised. The milkshakes are available in several flavours; vanilla, chocolate, strawberry, banana, lime, salted caramel, Oreo, peanut butter, honeycomb, and the seasonal ‘Festive Shake’. The prices range from £4.40 – £4.75 for the milkshake alone, you can then choose to add Jägermeister for an extra £1.50 (totally worth it).

img_20161114_120814

The milkshakes are massive! I chose chocolate, simple but still yummy. The Jägermeister is given to you in a small bottle – all you need to do it pour it in and mix! One word of advice: don’t drink it all before your meal, as it is super filling and left me unable to eat more than half of my burger.

Being the indecisive person that I am, I often struggle when choosing burgers as there are so many different options. I decided to play it safe by ordering the ‘GBK Cheese & Bacon’ (£9.60). Unfortunately, this price only includes the burger itself, any sides you desire will come at an additional cost.

img_20161114_121027

The ‘GBK Bacon & Cheese’ (pictured – half eaten – above) is gorgeous. I requested mine to be cooked well-done, (I have an irrational fear of pink meat) and it was faultless. The beef burger comes with crispy bacon, BBQ sauce, house mayo, dill pickle, salad, and a choice between mature Cheddar, smoked Apple-wood or American cheese. The flavours come together to form an authentic, American style burger which is to die for.

We figured that a burger alone wouldn’t be enough, and added a side of ‘Sweet Potato Fries’ (£4.05), which are served with GBK’s baconnaise (oh my God, best thing ever!)

img_20161114_120956

I fell in love with sweet potato fries the first time I tried these; they are perfectly crisp on the outside with a soft and fluffy centre. With no description given, I can only assume that baconnaise consists of mayonnaise with bacon bits and seasoning. Though I have decided that I’d love to try and make it myself.

After a ginormous milkshake, several layers of burger and one too many fries, we were all stuffed to the brim when asked the dreaded question, ‘Would you like to see the dessert menu?’ I’m sure I can speak for us all when I say that I left feeling utterly satisfied, with an urge to undo the top button of my jeans. Another perfect meal in another lovely restaurant. With friendly staff and luscious meals, GBK is at the top of my recommendation list.

GBK’s menu is available here.

Leave a Reply

