Kirstie · Uncategorized

My Cruelty Free ‘Going Out’ Make Up Routine

This is a full list of the products I use for my ‘going out’ make up look. All of the items used within this routine are cruelty free.Before I apply my make up I cleanse, tone and moisturise my face before using ELF’s ‘Hydrating Face Primer’. I have dry, sensitive skin, so this primer helps to keep my skin moisturised when I’m applying products, like powder, which can make my dry skin worse.

If I have a night out planned, I always fake tan my body the night before, however I don’t apply it on my face as the skin there is more sensitive. To make sure my face matches the rest of my body, I mix two foundations together, getting the perfect colour to match my bronzed skin!

I’ll take my usual Too Faced ‘Born This Way Foundation’ in timg_7329he shade ‘Snow’ and mix it with MUA’s ‘Skin Define Matte Perfect Foundation’ in the shade ‘Deep Fawn.’ I use a beauty blender to apply the foundation using ‘bouncing’ across the face to achieve a ‘flawless’ application.

After this, I take the Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics ‘Skin: Conceal’ in the shade ‘R0’ onto my beauty blender and bounce the product under my eyes. This is the basis for my ‘under eye highlighting’ and the colour works really well on the darker foundation. (This concealer is for red toned skin; they also do a yellow toned version called Y0.)

I then take the Anastasia Beverly Hills Powder in the shade ‘Vanilla’ and set the concealer under my eyes. This is a paler powder then I use for my whole face, as I don’t want to undo the highlighting I’ve just done. Using the same brush (Spectrum ‘Large Domed Powder Brush’) I take my Kat Von D ‘Lock It Powder Foundation’ in the shade ‘Light 44’ and set the rest of my face make up.

Next it’s time for the big guns…contouring! Practice makes perfect with contouring, and it really is easier then it first seems. I personally prefer powder for my contour and I use the img_7332Anastasia Beverly Hills ‘Pro Series Contour Kit’ in ‘Light/Medium. When I have fake tanned, I use the powder shade ‘Java’ to contour as the tone works best with my darker foundation. I use the Real Technique’s ‘301 Flat Contour’ brush from the Bold Metals collection and apply it to contour my cheekbones and forehead area. If you can’t find your natural contour line, suck in your cheeks to find it and apply lightly until you know you’re applying to the right area. Lightly dust the powder under you jaw line for a completed contour look.

To complete my face make up, I’ll take the Becca Cosmetics img_7333‘Shimmering Skin Perfector’ in the shade ‘Moonstone’ and I use the poured consistency as opposed to the powder highlight.  If I want more of a statement highlight, I’ll use Jeffree Star’s Skin Frost in the shade ‘King Tut’ which is so gold – I’m obsessed.

For my eye make up, I use the Wet N Wild eye shadow trio ‘Walking On Eggshells’, applying the base colour all over and the lighter colour on the brow bone. I then take the darkest colour and blend that into the crease line. Once I have completed the base of my eye shadow look, I take the Rouge Bunny Rouge loose glitter pigment in the shade ‘Embrace of Cashmere’ and sweep glitter across each lid. This img_7334is perfect for ‘going out’ make up as it adds a little glitter to the final look…and let’s face it we all need a bit more glitter in our lives.

I then use the Kat Von D ‘Tattoo Liner’ in the shade ‘Trooper’ for my eyeliner wings and the Pixi ‘Large Lash Mascara’ in the shade ‘Bold Black’ to finishimg_7280 off my eye make up. I have quite long lashes anyway, but if I really feel like having super long lashes I’ll use the Ardell ‘Demi Wispies’ fake eyelashes.

This look is completed with the Lime Crime ‘Velvetines’ liquid lipstick in the shade ‘Red Velvet’. I love a liquid lipstick for a night out as it doesn’t come off from drinking. Or kissing!

Leave a Reply

